Monday, May 31, 2010

Lars Lagerback's 23-man squad - Anichebe, Apam and Ikechukwu dropped

The tense moments and speculation in the media are uncalled for now, as Super Eagles technical adviser Lars Lagerback names his 23-man squad for the 2010 World Cup to be staged in South Africa.

In typical Nigerian style, the tactician included Chelsea's midfielder John Mikel Obi in his final list, while Everton's striker Victor Anichebe topped the list of surprise exclusions.

Real Zaragoza's striker Ikechukwu Uche and Nice defender Onyekachi Apam, were dropped because of confirmation that their knee injuries won't heal in time for the World Cup kickoff on June 11. The following stars will be returning to their respective bases with immediate effect - Onyekachi Apam, Victor Anichebe, Ikechukwu Uche, Brown Ideye, Terna Suswan, Bassey Akpan, and Peter Utaka.

The 23-man squad:


Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Dele Aiyenugba (Bnei Yehuda, Israel), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Petah Tikva, Israel).


Taye Taiwo (Olympique Marseille, France), Elderson Echiejile (Rennes, France), Chidi Odiah (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Joseph Yobo (Everton, England), Daniel Shittu (Bolton, England), Afodele Adeleye (Spartak Rotterdam, Netherlands), Rabiu Afolabi (SV Salzburg, Austria).


Kalu Uche (Almeria, Spain), Dickson Etuhu (Fulham, England), John Obi Mikel (Chelsea, England), Sani Kaita (Alania, Russia), Lukman Haruna (AS Monaco, France), Yusuf Ayila (Dynamo Kiev, Ukraine).


Yakubu Aiyegbeni (Everton, England), Chinedu Obasi Ogbuke (Hoffenheim TSG, Germany), Nwankwo Kanu (Portmouth, England), Obafemi Martins (Wolfsburg, Germany), Obinna Nsofor (Malaga, Spain), Osaze Odemwingie (Locomotiv Moscow, Russia).